Frontline: Sex Slaves

1:03 am Tuesday/Wednesday

Can’t sleep.  Took Restoril around 10 pm, but it doesn’t settle me.  Beagle Baby is sleeping at the foot of the bed.  I’m jealous of her ability to nap all day and sleep most of the night.  The rest of the furry babies are sleeping in various places throughout the house.  I’m sure Harper Lee is either on the couch or in the chair in the living room.  She likes her space.  Newman and Murfy are around somewhere, in the floor, but I don’t see them at the moment.

Waiting on a start date for the new job.  Nervous because of the extreme pay cut, but very excited to have the opportunity for a new start in a field that I want to be in.  I’ll actually be using my master’s degree when I start.  I’m excited to get back to the culture of criminals, despite the down side that comes with that.  I already have a mentor that I can count on, but I don’t know if he considers himself a mentor to me.  He’s offered so much good advice so far, and was instrumental in my decision to take the job.

I’ll miss a few people at my current job, but I won’t be too far away.  I can visit daily and gossip thru email.  I’m really looking forward to getting out of an office full of women.  The backstabbing, gossiping, etc. will be over for me (me being on the receiving end of it).  I’m planning the conversation that I’ll eventually have in the elevator when I see a former coworker after I leave the current job.  Can’t wait for that one. 

Frontline on PBS is featuring a show on sex slaves.  One of my favorite TV movies was Human Trafficking on Lifetime.  Mira Sorvino played an ICE (Immigration and Customs Enforcement) Officer, Donald Sutherland was her boss.  The movie really opened up my eyes on something I thought was only a rumor or didn’t exist anymore.  So sad for those women leaving the European countries under the impression of becoming models in the US, only to get hooked on drugs and to be used as slaves, performing sex acts for the benefit of their smugglers.  So sad.

I have a book I’m currently reading called Beyond the Body Farm written by Dr. Bill Bass and Jon Jefferson.  The book chronicles Dr. Bass’s lifetime work in forensic science, specifically identifying bodies using various techniques such as blow fly/maggot infestation, temperature, dental records, and other techniques.  In my new job, I have to retire at age 57.  I think I’ll plan to enroll at the University of Tennessee in the forensic anthropology program.  Things like that interest me.  I might not make it through the first inspection of the first body, but at least I can say that I tried something that I’ve always wanted to try.  And a retirement at age 57 will afford me the opportunity to pursue other ventures.  That is, if I make it to age 57.  You never know what might get the best of you.  I don’t think the new job will be stressful once I’m trained and comfortable in my duties, but one never knows what the future holds.

 

 

Still no job for the husband.  Praying something comes along soon.  With the significant pay cut I’m taking with the new job, I don’t know if we’ll be able to make it on one reduced income.  As Dave Ramsey says, we’ll be eating “beans and rice, rice and beans”.  I dread it.  I’ve become accustomed to a comfortable lifestyle.  It has been hard enough to get by on one income.  I can’t imagine what it will take to get by on a significantly less one income.  If God brings you to it, He’ll bring you through it.  I guess that’s what faith is all about.

Now 1:18 am.  Getting a little sleepy.  I’m going to try to read my Beyond the Body Farm book and try to get some sleep.  Tomorrow is the one day a week I need to be at work by 8 am.  I don’t know if that will be realistic or not.  I need to get myself on a schedule to be there at 8, as that is the time that I’ll have to be there for the new job.

Wish me luck.  Wish my family (consisting of husband and four furry kids) luck.  Pray for us.  We need it.

Leave a Reply

