Random Tuesday Thoughts and a Recipe

randomtuesday

 

Don’t bother seeing the new Nicholas Cage movie “Knowing”.  It sucks.

When you have a decision to make between two options, a third popping in does not make things easier.

I’m going to make either peanut butter smoothies or peanut butter balls (aka Buckeyes) tonight to sell tomorrow to the fat cows I work with.  Honestly, they’ll part with any amount of money for something chocolate or sweet.  (If you’re reading this and you work with me, I was not referring to you as a fat cow.  I meant the real fat cows.)

Husband still does not have a job.  I am still not paying his car payments.

I like large polka dot sprinkles on a cupcake topped with a mound of icing.  Very spring-ish.

It’s 74° here today.  It was 40° this morning.  Woo Hoo!  Wish I had some vacation time to take off and be outside.  Hell, who am I kidding, I’d just go home and take a nap.

I need to make some extra money.  Anybody got any ideas?

I love a good cheeseburger.  Onion included.

 

Here’s a random recipe for you from my friends Matt & Paige  (check out their blogs):

PB&J CUPCAKES

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
1 stick butter
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
¾ cup milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup grape jelly
Coarsely chopped peanuts for garnish (optional)

Preheat oven to 350. Line 2 muffin tins w/ paper.

Sift flour, baking powder, and salt into a medium bowl. Set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugar on medium speed until fluffy, 2 to 3 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time, beating until well-incorporated. Add the dry ingredients in two parts, alternating with the milk. Add the vanilla and jelly, continuing to mix after each.

Spoon the batter into the prepared cups until each is about two-thirds full. Bake 20 to 22 minutes or until tops spring back when touched. Let cool 10 minutes.

 

CHUNKY PEANUT BUTTER FROSTING

Ingredients

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup chunky peanut butter
4 ounces cream cheese softened
2 cups confectioners’ sugar
½ tablespoon milk

Beat the butter, peanut butter, and cream cheese in the bowl of an electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy, 1 to 2 minutes.

On low speed, slowly add 1 cup sugar, then a few drops milk. Increase mixer speed to medium-high, and mix thoroughly. Add remaining sugar and a few more drops of milk if necessary.

Increase mixer speed to high and mix until frosting is fluffy and reaches a good spreading consistency. Use immediately.

6 Responses to “Random Tuesday Thoughts and a Recipe”

  1. Stacy (the Random Cool Chick) Says:

    “When you have a decision to make between two options, a third popping in does not make things easier.” I couldn’t agree with you more! 😉 Happy RTT! 🙂

  2. Susan a/k/a Skinny Cow - Have you ever noticed how NAME is always required? (Said in an Andy Rooney of 60 minutes tone.) Says:

    Thank God for the fat cows at work. Start cooking and make my smoothie extra large please.

    Keep up the random thoughts…they’re so random!

    Money making thoughts…have you ever considered selling used socks on ebay? Or old funky flip flops? Hey there’s an idea, you could make SPIRIT flops!

    Love,
    The Skinny Cow

  3. Keely Says:

    There was a lot of peanut butter in that post. I think I gained 5 lbs just reading it.

    Does that make me a fat cow?

  4. Delia Says:

    I’m DAMN proud to be that “cow” that you so easily referred to in your post!! I may forget my wallet tomorrow, though. Do you take rain checks?

  5. April Says:

    No rain checks, Delia. I spent a good portion of the evening trying to eat some fish and potatoes with cheese. The rest of the evening I’ve spent throwing up said fish & potatoes. Maybe I shouldn’t have eaten those two chocolate marshmallow eggs (you know, the ones from the styrofoam egg carton) because they came up the same time as the fish. And I thought I had chewed the fish sufficiently. Maybe I need to better define “sufficiently”.

    Long story short… no peanutbutter balls tonight – only regurgitated fish and chocolate.

  6. appalachianamerican Says:

    Following up on the PB&J cupcake recipe: You’re actually supposed to bake the cupcakes minus the jelly and then insert the jelly into the center of them once they’ve baked. But since I’m stupid and Paige originally left that part out of the recipe, I just dumped the jelly into the batter itself! That resulted in a very interesting grape flavored cake! So use your own judgement: grape cake with PB frosting or regular cupcake with a jelly filling and PB frosting.

Leave a Reply

