Dear Bloggers:

Dear Bloggers I Read:

 I have only been blogging for about a month or so. I first got started by reading Julie’s blog, From Inmates to Playdates.  Julie and I know each other from our former jail days (we worked there, so don’t think we were cell mates or anything).  I LOVE Julie’s blog.  Is it because I know her in the real world and know a little bit about her real life?  I think that’s part of it.  The other part is that Julie’s a good great writer.  She’s been published, you know!

I have another friend/co-worker Delia that blogs here.  She’s hilariously funny at times and somber at others, like when she’s talking about her dear Somer DeLynn who was stillborn.  She’s got a little fireball on her hands now that goes by the name of Clarissa.  Her pic is on Delia’s blog, so check her out.  I love Delia’s blog because she’s funny, sarcastic, crazy, and sometimes makes me want to cry when she talks about Somer.  It’s all good though.  I know Delia in real life, so that makes her blog more interesting.  Lately she’s been summarizing our poop talks at work.  You’ll have to read her blog to know what I’m talking about.  I just can’t put the poop talk into words like she can.  And I’m not just talking about people poop… she’s blogging about bunny poop, too.

 There are several other blogs I read on a daily basis.  I’m not being paid to promote anyone here (but if you’d like to send some cash, I’ll give you info about my paypal account), but just to let you know some of my faves:

Chased by Children

Lisa Leonard Designs (and I love her jewelry… hint, hint… I need to win some of that stuff!)

Hooked on Houses – I didn’t know I was hooked on houses.  I thought I just liked them.  Since I’ve been reading this blog, I’m hooked.  Hooked, lined and sinkered.

Finding Fairytales – this chick works in a jail and that’s all I have to say about that.  Makes me miss those days.  What the hell?  I don’t miss working with nasty inmates!!  What was I thinking?!?  But I still LOVE this blog.

I Should Be Folding Laundry – this chick holds some awesome carnivals and giveaways.  I haven’t won anything yet, but I did get ELEVEN (yes 11) snazzy comments on a picture that I posted on my blog that linked to her “You Capture” carnival.

(side note… I had to ask Julie @ Inmates what a carnival was.  I’m learning.  Slowly.)

 Back to the list:

Scary Mommy

The Blogess

The  Queen B

Tip Junkie – I love tips!!  And not the kind that strippers & waitresses get.  I was a waitress at Shoney’s for one week back in 1995.  I don’t remember making any tips of the monetary kind.

Bakerella – I’m totally stealing her Hello Kitty cake balls idea.

Attack of the Redneck Mommy

Matt’s Mouth – another real person I know.  Although he’s slacked off a LOT lately, I’ll give him a break.  He works full time, has a booming social life and he’s working on his master’s degree – all online – which means homework out the wazoo every week.  I should know – I’m one of his proofreaders.  After that degree is finished in May, I’m holding him to a much higher standard and expecting at least one post per week.

2 Clever Blog – love these girls.  I’m an eavesdropper on their conversations.  I’ve gotten so many neat tips & ideas from them.  Kudos to your site!

 

Anyway, that’s a big list and it took me FOREVER to put in all those links.  There are more that I read every day (check out my Blogroll page).  But… (and that’s a BIG BUT), I can’t keep up with all the blogs I want to read.  When I first got my HP mini, I created one folder in my favorites called “Blogs”.  Since then, I have created another folder called “New Blog Faves”.  Both these are bursting at the seams with the names of blogs I read/used to read.  Unfortunately, I’m going to start deleting some of the names on the lists.  It’s not that I don’t enjoy reading the blogs, I just can’t keep up with all of them, work full time, take care of my four furry children, listen to my husband bitch, and take care of myself (note – taking care of myself is last… as usual).


I’m beginning to notice that some bloggers talk only about their children.  I have no (human) children, so I’m not interested that your kid puked today, ate boogers yesterday, and has a school party tomorrow for which you are inept at making homemade snacks.  To make this long blog short – I’m deleting some of you.  I hope it doesn’t hurt your feelings.  There are MANY more blogs that I read (and will continue to read) that aren’t on my list above.  And I’m still adding to my favorites list every day. 

 

How do you sort through all of blog world and narrow down your favorites?  My real life friends will always take priority, but there are so many more that I LOVE and can’t do without.  Do I create a “Real Life Friends’ Blogs” folder, then a secondary favorites folder?  And how many go in the secondary favorites?  Do I categorize them according to the blog that has the best/most giveaways?  The funniest?  The dirtiest? (ok, Finding Fairytales, you’d win that contest hands-down.  That’s why I LOVE your blog) 

 

I know this next paragraph will offend some people, but I’m not going to mention a specific group, so you have no ammunition to fight back at me… here goes:

 

I was raised in a particular religion from birth.  I no longer attend that church for various personal reasons.  There are things I really like about that church/religion, but there are a lot of things I don’t agree with.  So, when I come across someone’s blog that is a member of that organization, I tend to dismiss the blog or not read very much of it.  I doubt I have any of those blogs in my faves.  I’m not interested in how someone has a perfect marriage, perfect children, and that they’re going to be together forever.  I’m not interested in your views on how to dress modestly (ran across a post about that earlier this week… horrible flashbacks from a time when I had one of the weirdest teachers EVER at that church), how to find the perfect husband (that doesn’t exist in my world), how to read the word on a daily basis, how to submit to my husband, and how, if I don’t have children, that I’m not quite as good as someone who does.  I consider myself a Christian – I believe in Jesus Christ and believe he is my Savior.  I believe he is the Son of God.  I believe that God exists.  I believe there is a heaven and a hell.  I believe that things I do while on earth will play a role in deciding my fate, but I also believe that the sacrifice made by Jesus allows us to be “saved” (I never liked that word… it’s like I’m being eaten by Jaws and need to be rescued, but I can’t think of a better word right now.  Maybe that is a good word – I think Jesus would save me from Jaws).

 

As you can probably guess, I don’t belong to a church right now.  There are a few that I really like, but my motivation to get out of bed on a Sunday morning is close to 0%, and I’m so tired by the time Wednesday evening rolls around that I just want to go home and sleep.  Do I think I’m going to hell?  NO.  Can I be sure?  No.  I’m sure there are a few several hundred thousand some people that think I’m going to hell because I wasn’t baptized by the right person/at the right place/in the right religion/at the right time.  I’ve heard that my baptism “doesn’t count” and that I have to be baptized again or I’m doomed.  Well, I’m not ready to deal with that right now.  If you know me in real life, don’t feel like you can’t preach/witness/talk to me.  I enjoy it.  It makes me think.  Keep inviting me to your church, even if I never come.  I do appreciate the invitations. 

BTW, if your church handles snakes, please warn me ahead of time.  I might politely say that I’ll think about it, but you can almost guarantee that I won’t be showing up on your church’s doorstep on Sunday morning.  Or Sunday evening.  Or Wednesday evening.  Or EVER. 

 

Ok, how did this blog entry go from my fave blogs to snake-handling churches?  Whatever.

 

I have a real life friend/coworker who happens to be a preacher’s wife.  One of the reasons I LOVE her so much is that she’s not perfect – and another reason is that she’ll be first to tell anyone that she’s not perfect.  I have gone to her church on numerous Wednesday nights – especially during the class on world religions.  I’ve been to one Sunday morning service and was very impressed with the preacher (her husband) when he asked God to forgive him of his sins, which were many.  Seems like some preachers want you to think of them as perfect.  And they’re not.  They’re human, just like me.  I LOVE it that he recognizes, publicly acknowledges, and asks for forgiveness of his own sins.  I enjoyed the whole Sunday morning, but that little part had to be my favorite.

 

And again, how did I go from blogging about my favorite blogs, to talking about the preacher’s sins?!  Whatever.

 

Anyway… I guess I’ll wrap up this little rant for now.  Don’t forget to leave me comments on how you all organize your favorite blogs.  That was the intent of this whole thing from the beginning – to get advice on organizing.  Where it turned into:

  • snake-handling,
  • dressing modestly, and
  • imperfect preachers

I’ll never know.

3 Responses to “Dear Bloggers:”

  1. Delia Says:

    I LOVE THIS POST!! Maybe I love it cause I’m in it or maybe I love it because of snakes? Who knows…..but I still love it, regardless!!!

  2. Jenny, Bloggess Says:

    “I think Jesus would save me from Jaws.”

    That oughta be in the Bible.

  3. Julie From Inmates Says:

    Um, I’m pretty close to perfect. Jusy Sayin’ =)

    Just kidding!!! I organize my favorites by just listing them. I read a lot more than I have on my blogroll simply because it takes time to plug them in. ahem!

Leave a Reply

